Melissa Groo
01-11-2013, 01:25 PM
Canon 1D Mark IV
500mm +1.4x
Handheld

ISO 800
1/1000 sec
f/6.3

I've just returned from almost 2 weeks down in Fort Myers, FL. It was my first time being there in Dec/early Jan, and certainly wasn't as productive as the times I've been there in Feb and in May. The weather was kind of rough, with cool temps and not much light, and the birds were scarce in many places. I hit Sanibel, Estero, Bunche, Fort DeSoto, and Venice Rookery, among other spots. Came back with over 3000 images that I am just beginning to look at. Now that vacation's over, it's time to go back to school and this is the best classroom I know of!
Took this at a Fort Myers marsh. I felt so lucky to have a bit of time with a pair of sandhill cranes. This was really the first time I had photographed them, and I had been looking them for days, finally found a pair on my last day there. They were very comfortable with me as I slowly followed them along, squatting down in the grass near them when they were stationary, doing some preening (them not me). Got a few fireant bites but it was worth it! I fell in love with these birds.
I processed this for the first time following closely the guide that Arash and Artie wrote called "The Digital Photo Professional RAW Conversion Guide." What I should do is also process it using my old haphazard way and see what the difference is.
I hope you like it. Thanks so much in advance for any comments and critiques.

<iframe width="468" height="60" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" src="http://mer54715.datafeedfile.com/widget/aff_widget_prdt_generate-2.0.php?aff_num=10536&aff_net=1&widget_num=1775"><p>Sorry your browser does not support iFrame</p></iframe>

gail bisson
01-11-2013, 03:59 PM
Welcome back Melissa!
This is lovely. I love the lines and curves found within this image.
The ruffled, erect neck feathers are beautifully detailed.You could not have picked a better BG and title.
This is one beautiful image.
PP looks good,
Gail

Bill Dix