PDA

View Full Version : Run With It

Cheryl Arena Molennor
01-06-2013, 06:22 PM
Happy New Year everyone! This image was taken in Sarasota Fl and I titled it as my motto for the coming year. These Hooded Mergansers were fun to watch and shoot. They were catching these catfish and shrimp and chasing eachother for them. Pretty fun.
Cropped to pan for better effect. The light was low and I am still feeling out my dof on this lens with more than one subject. I'm sure I could have gotten away with f8 and a lower ISO but I'm still learning.
Canon 1DMIV 500mm f4 lens w 1.4X
ISO 1000 f10@1/2000

<iframe width="468" height="60" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" src="http://mer54715.datafeedfile.com/widget/aff_widget_prdt_generate-2.0.php?aff_num=10536&aff_net=1&widget_num=1775"><p>Sorry your browser does not support iFrame</p></iframe>

Sidharth Kodikal
01-06-2013, 06:30 PM
Ha! What a sweet image Cheryl. So many things to like about this. Love the comp, the spalshes, the pose. The food is cherry on top.
It's all come together nicely. Seems to need a bit of CCW rotation.

Dennis Zaebst
01-06-2013, 06:42 PM
Striking image Cheryl...very sharp and love the two splashes and the drops frozen in the air. Good wing position, and great low angle & composition. Very well done. Where in Sarasota did you find these birds? I am travelling there (to SW FL area) this month, and would love to photograph these guys.

Don Nelson
01-06-2013, 06:44 PM
excellent - I love these Hooded Mergansers, and you've captured it well. I especially like the prey item.

PhilCook
01-06-2013, 07:30 PM
Yes top a slight CCW rotation, but great timing, loving the little fish in it's mouth

Cheryl Arena Molennor
01-06-2013, 07:35 PM
Ha! What a sweet image Cheryl. So many things to like about this. Love the comp, the spalshes, the pose. The food is cherry on top.
It's all come together nicely. Seems to need a bit of CCW rotation.