PDA

View Full Version : Dancing Bears

Arthur Morris
09-06-2012, 04:22 PM
This image was created with the Canon 500mm f/4L IS II with the 1.4X III TC and the EOS-5D MIII. ISO 800. Evaluative metering =1/3 stop: 1/500 sec. at f/7.1 in Hallo Bay, Katmai National Park, AK. I have been leading bear boat groups to Katmai for about 8 years. Next year's trip will be in September and will feature lots of bears catching lots of salmon.

Don't be shy: all honest comments welcome.

Marina Scarr
09-06-2012, 06:36 PM
Nice action and behavior captured here, Artie. The color combinations are very pleasing, and I especially like the hint of wildflowers peeking through the grass. To my eyes, I think this image may need a bit of CW rotation since I think the grasses may be leaning a tad too much to the left. It's nice to have such good views of the two paws, the teeth and the ruffed up fur.

Rachel Hollander
09-06-2012, 08:07 PM
Artie - great comp and action captured. I too like the pastels of the bg and grasses. Of course, your usual excellent IQ too. The mouth area seems to have a little bit of a red/magenta cast in the lips which I would expect to be darker, almost black, but you were there and I know there are often differences in the colors of the bears.

TFS,
Rachel

Tom Graham
09-06-2012, 08:27 PM
Were they really dancing? What were they doing, play fighting? Or real fighting?
Tom

Sanjeev Aurangabadkar
09-06-2012, 10:17 PM
Awesome action shot, great IQ and detail Artie. I am eagerly waiting for your review of the 500 II before I place an order for that or the 300 II+TCs.
cheers
Sanjeev

Steve Canuel
09-06-2012, 11:52 PM
Really nice Artie, I'm loving the soft light and colors. Detail/sharpness is just about perfect for me.

Steve Kaluski
09-07-2012, 05:56 AM
Hi Artie, can only echo Steve C's comment above, however I wish you could have sound to this action too. :bg3:

TFS
Steve

Arthur Morris
09-07-2012, 06:13 AM