PDA

View Full Version : Magnetic Termite Mounds

John Cooper
04-18-2008, 11:51 PM
These magnetic termite mounds were photographed in the Litchfield NP, Nothern Territory, Australia. I made sure I was in the field just before sunrise but spent ages walking around looking for a reasonable composition. (Immagine walking through a graveyard trying to make a composition out of the tombstones);)
I finally settled on this composition as the hill made for a good back-drop.

Canon EOS 3, Canon 17-40mm lens, Velvia 50, Early morning light, F22, Tripod.

Lana Hays
04-19-2008, 12:40 PM
John
I really don't do landscapes so I'm not good with the technicals. However, I really like this one.....and interesting scene that does remind me of tombstones. I remember seen the termite mounds many years ago when I was in Australia but don't remember anything as unusual as this one. I really enjoyed Australia and this was a wonderful renewal of the memories.

David Kennedy
04-19-2008, 04:42 PM
John,
I've been chewing on this one for a few hours now and I'm still not entirely sure how I feel about this image. The foreground anchor, the nearest termite mound, is certainly in good light and sharp focus, but I think that its position in the frame actually prevents the composition from" working." The way that the shadows stream from the right, it feels like anything that "interrupts" a shadow so prominently should be the left "end point" of the image. Having the termite mound on the right, juxtaposed with the way the lighting is playing out in the background, makes the composition feel awkward. I hope that this makes some sense and that you might be able to apply this kind of thinking to future images. Cheers,
David

Roman Kurywczak
04-19-2008, 07:52 PM
Hi John,
I'm liking this one too. I like the dark areas as it makes an interesting interplay of colors. My only recommendation is to get rid of the mound that is touching the large FG one in the upper left.
Roman

John Cooper